Awards and Recognitions

2019 Community Partner of the Year

Nominees: Johnson County Economic Development, Warrensburg R-6 and University of Central Missouri

UCM was awarded Community Partner of the Year due to the multiple connections the Alumni Association was able to connect Warrensburg Main Street with during the Fall 2019 semester. Our office worked with multiple professors that have allowed us to partner with their students. These students have created and implemented a new event for April 2020 called Snapshot of the Burg. Another helped better organize our internal organization system and open many doors within our communication platform, introducing us to GSuite .The last group, IBE students paired with us and choose us as their organization to dedicate volunteer service hours as well as donate their profit from their product. We are using the donated funds to add more art in our Downtown. UCM has also connected us with multiple organizations and individuals to volunteer during many Main Street events in 2019. UCM highlighted Warrensburg Main Street during a fall football game and they also participated during our Dickens’ Christmas Event having their Achauer House open with Holiday Treats, entertainment and added to our friendly competitive Tiny Tim Soup Stroll. Thank you University of Central Missouri for your support.

2019 Heart of Downtown

Nominees: Teena Simon, Colleen Hurd, Jason Elkins

Teena Simon is the 2019 Heart of Downtown Award Winner. Teena has served many positions within the Main Street board, design committee and advisory board. Teena brought a new, unique event to life in 2018, Farm to Table. She served as the chairperson for two years straight for this event helping design and run this event. Teena also has been very dependable volunteer for Main Street. She is also open to give us suggestions, ideas and critique to help better our organization. We are so lucky to have this relationship with her because she plays such large role to the organization, the board and staff. Thank you Teena!

2019 Business of the Year Award

Nominees: RISE Crafts & Curiosities, Green Truck Bakery, Awesome Blossoms

Green Truck Bakery is the winner of Business of the Year. Green Truck bakery started as a vendor at the Warrensburg Farmers Market. As their businesses continued to expand they opened a store front in downtown. After remodeling their location they opened with limited hours. but within a very short time they have already increased the days and times they are open. Green Truck Bakery is a big supporter of Warrensburg Main Street with their participation in almost all of our events and they are also the winners of our Burg Blooms competition in 2019.

2019 Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Gina Carlyle, Cindy Holmberg, Jill McNaughton

Gina Carlyle is the 2019 Volunteer of the Year. Gina has been part of Warrensburg Main Street for many years. Without hesitation, she had taken on many roles including a member of our board, promotions committee and organization committee. She continues to be a major role in our annual Piccadilly by helping with the entire planning process and production day of. She is also a Downtown property owner and co business owner, of Awesome Blossoms. Her business is an anchor in our Downtown as well as when it comes to participating in our events. We are so appreciative of her helping hand and all she does for Main Street.